Prince W2A (copyright The Prince Estate – photo credit Mike Ruiz)

The Prince vault is opened for good and “Welcome 2 America” is the first “new” delivery from Prince Estate in partnership with Legacy Recordings.

The whole album sounds like an instant classic. It differs a bit from the sound that Prince delivered in the 2000’s and his latest treats for the world with ‘Art Official Age’ and ‘HitnRun’. Full of funk, more jazzy, absolutely political in some tracks, hot and sexy in others. It’s a variant of Prince sounds, with all the classic elements.

Welcome 2 America features Prince on Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards , Tal Wilkenfeld on Bass, Chris Coleman on Drums, Mr. Hayes on Keyboards and Percussion and accompanied on vocals by the great Liv Warfield, Shelby J. and Elisa Fiorillo. In the credits it shows it’s co-produced by Mr. Hayes.

Prince W2A (copyright The Prince Estate photo credit Kevin Mazur)

The world is fraught with misin4mation. George Orwell’s vision of the future is here. We need 2 remain steadfast in faith in the trying times ahead.”Prince, 2010

It sounds more of a live recording studio album, that is why it sounds so different from other deliveries of his.

The Prince – Welcome 2 America album contains also his performance at the Forum (in Blu-Ray), under the same name (full of classic covers as you can see the tracklist below):

Studio Album (CD/LP/Digital)

  1. Welcome 2 America
  2. Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
  3. Born 2 Die
  4. 1000 Light Years From Here
  5. Hot Summer
  6. Stand Up and B Strong *
  7. Check The Record
  8. Same Page, Different Book
  9. When She Comes
  10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
  11. Yes
  12. One Day We Will All B Free

* Soul Asylum cover

Prince – Welcome 2 America (Live at The Forum, April 28, 2011)

Concert Performance (Blu-Ray):

  1. Joy In Repetition
  2. Brown Skin (India.Arie cover)
  3. 17 Days
  4. Shhh
  5. Controversy
  6. Theme From “Which Way Is Up” (Stargard cover)
  7. What Have You Done For Me Lately (Janet Jackson cover)
  8. Partyman
  9. Make You Feel My Love (Bob Dylan cover)
  10. Misty Blue (Eddy Arnold cover)
  11. Let’s Go Crazy
  12. Delirious
  13. 1999
  14. Little Red Corvette
  15. Purple Rain
  16. The Bird (The Time cover – Prince composition)
  17. Jungle Love (The Time cover – Prince composition)
  18. A Love Bizarre (Sheila E. cover – Prince composition)
  19. Kiss
  20. Play That Funky Music (Wild Cherry cover)
  21. Inglewood Swinging (cover of Kool & the Gang’s “Hollywood Swinging”)
  22. Fantastic Voyage (Lakeside cover)
  23. More Than This (Roxy Music cover)

The hot lyrics accross this album is a current/future statement of what’s happening in America, describing situations as in a poem book. Plus many many more…

Welcome 2 America is a political statement, for America and for the world. Too jazzy, too classy and it’s the opening title of the album.

Running game (Son Of A Slave Master) comes with an opening riff (that reminds me a bit of Doors ‘Light My Fire’). Apparently this tune goes to the music executives and the whole industry.

Born 2 Die is a classy Curtis Mayfield-type tune that gets you movin’ from the beggining.

1000 Light Years from here is a smooth funky driven tune , uplifting , with great backing vocals , church-driven. He’s preaching on this one.

Hot Summer sounds more like the funky soft rock tune you want to play on a beach party (or a pool party) to get everybody dancing (to a futuristical sound, as he sings).

Stand Up and B Strong is a ballad. It’s about human rights, it’s about feelings, it’s about people empowerment. It’s also too personal for Prince as he describes his situtation in lyrics: “If you live in heels, take too many pills, cause you lost the thrill against your own will, stand up and b strong.” Great keyboards, great guitar solo.

Check The Record is too funky!!! Yeap, this is the hot spot of funky classic Prince that leads you to dirty dancing.

Same Page, Different Book is a tune against war, law. Against fight, against fake fight! Too groovy! Using the groove as a salvation.

When She Comes is the sexy ballad you’ve been waiting from Prince on this album, on his great high falsetto voice. Jazzy.

1010 (Rin Tin Tin) starting with a piano riff, gets keyboard driven and puts you in a groovy mood as it grows. Talking about this digital information world and even more.

Yes is the party anthem of the album. Let’s go crazy style! It could be the opening tune of this album.

One Day We Will All B Free is a preach song full of melodies, full of against-the-system lyrics. Truth is to be told.

The album gets a proper full release Friday, July 30th. Enjoy it as loud as you can! It may change the way you’re listening to music or even change your state of mind. Prince’s music always puts you in the right mood.